Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Gyeongpodae in Gangneung, South Korea

Gyeongpodae in Gangneung, South Korea (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Lately, I have become a more prolific blogger, as those of you who have been following me for a while may have noticed.  Part of the reason for this massive outpouring of posts was that I was getting ready for a big change in my life (or supposed to be getting ready anyway), so my procrastinator mind channeled a lot of creative energy into the less essential things like this blog.  Another reason was that I knew that very shortly I would be giving up blogging and writing altogether, and I wanted to get out as much of what was in my head as I could before I had to stop.

For the next 18 months, I will not be posting anymore.  Nor will I be writing fiction.  Instead, I will be in South Korea, doing other things.  After 18 months I do plan to take up this blog again, so this isn’t meant to be a permanent goodbye, but in the world of blogging, 18 months feels like it might as well be forever, and I feel that anybody who does check up on this deserves a heads-up as to why the posts all stopped, and when they may possibly start up again.

Okay, now that that announcement is over, I would like to use this post to highlight all the blogs I follow, since most of these bloggers will still be posting in the near future, and I think they’re worth checking out.  Here they all are, in the order they show up on the sidebar of my site (which means reverse order of how long I’ve been following them).

1. M. B. Weston’s Official Website.

What it’s about: M. B. Weston, author of fantasy series The Elysian Chronicles, discusses writing, particularly writing speculative fiction, using examples from her own work and from real life to show how to write more believably.

How I found it: I gave the author a ping back at the end of my post on writing character reactions to the impossible, thanks to my blogging helper Zemanta.

Why I follow it: I write speculative fiction.  I like to analyze what makes fiction believable in my head, particularly characters and their reactions to the “fantastic” story elements.  This is a great site for anybody who writes speculative fiction and wants to write it well.

2. Beverly Farr: Celebrating the Sweet Romance

What it’s about: Beverly Farr, author of quirky, sweet, contemporary romance novels, discusses the sweet things of love and romance, with an emphasis on Jane Austen, BBC Period Pieces, and movies from the 1930s.

How I found it: I personally know the author.

Why I like it: It has lots of cute pictures of people in love on it.  It’s a love and happiness blog.

3. Mother Goose Children’s Theatre

What it’s about: Laughing at writing, creativity, and entertainment.

How I found it: The author followed me first.

Why I follow it:  I really liked the “quirky quotes” category.  They’re funny, and the author draws cute stick figure pictures.

4. The living notebook:

What it’s about: Mostly writing, but also publishing, what publishers look for, etc.

How I found it: A blogger who liked one of my posts gave it a mention.

Why I follow it: It contains decent writing advice from a different, less romantic perspective than some of the other blogs I follow.   Some of the sites I follow are focused on a certain genre of fiction, but the advice on this one can be useful to any fiction writer.

5. The Woodlander:

What it’s about: A author’s musings on the process of writing.

How I found it: Same as with the living notebook.

Why I followed it: It talks about the actual writing process, chronicling the author’s feelings about writing as he develops his work in progress.  Unfortunately, this blog no longer seems to be active.  It stopped when the work in progress got finished. Good for Woodlander for having finished, but I don’t see any new content, so I kind of forget that I’m following it most of the time.

6. Addictive Story:

What it’s about: Story Addict, author of upcoming new adult novel Shadows of Penumbra, discusses elements of fiction, particularly young adult and new adult fiction, and promotes fellow authors.

How I found it: We both posted on love triangles, and Zemanta brought us together.

Why I follow it: Story Addict’s posts on common elements of popular YA fiction are really insightful.  Also, she does book promotions for indie writers, so I was hoping that when I got my WIP finished, she would promote it.  But that dream required that I actually finish my book by now, which didn’t happen, unfortunately.

Well, that’s it.  I will be back in 18 months.

-M. Giroux

