Tags

, , , , ,

Today I went onto the Nanowrimo website for the first time in a long time, and found it interesting how just opening up the site can get me excited.

Three years ago I did Nanowrimo, writing from Nanjing China, and managed to write down an the desired total of 50,000 words for one story.  Even though, when all was said and done, I didn’t produce something I thought was publishable, the experience was good for me.  If gave me a sense of accomplishment.

Two years ago I spent the whole month of November inside a training center preparing for missionary service in South Korea.  One year ago I spent the month of November in a Korean city called Cheon-an (which means heavenly peace and is the Korean version of Tian-an, as is Tian-an Men square in China).  Since I was doing missionary work the whole time, I wasn’t reading novels, let alone writing them.

But… I am now officially ready to attempt to repeat the Nanowrimo process, and I’m really, really excited.  I went on to the site and changed my region (It’s funny how it still thinks you’re in the same country until you tell it otherwise).  Writing from “somewhere in the states” as opposed to halfway across the world from them doesn’t sound quite as cool.  But I’m still ready to do my American region proud.

Challenges I face in my upcoming draft:

1. Character Issues: Oddly enough, I’m finding that for this project, I have to worry about keeping the conflicts manageable.  The nature of the story is such that my main characters begin with several hefty lumps of conflicts on their plates, so adding too much conflict on top of that could overwhelm the plot pretty quickly.  I have to tell myself, keep it simple, keep it simple.

2. Realism:  There’s a fine balance between making your world believable and losing the magic.  I’m striving for the best of both worlds here, or as close as I can get to it.

That said though, I’ll also mention the parts I’m exited about.

1. Language: If making up stories is my favorite thing in the world, my other favorite thing in the world is language, and my favorite of all things in the world is writing a stories where language and language difference are important.  And I love, love the language of the story world I am now creating.  I love how it shapes my characters.  I love how it shapes their thoughts.  (I promise the finished work will be written in English though, not Elvish or some other language, in case your wondering).

2.  Fantasy:  I love to imagine anything new and different, and exploring the pros and cons of the world I’m creating is more than exciting.  My characters are so cool, and I get to hand them choices that I’ll never have and watch what they do with them.

3.  The great question:  The theme of my premise.  What do we do with human problems in this world?  Challenges?  Differences?  Where does the balance lie between reaching for new frontiers and accepting ourselves as we are?  And if we do strive for change, how to we react to the  inevitable disappointments?  What happens when we succeed?

That’s all.  That’s my task for the month of November laid out for me.  Yay Nanowrimo!

